top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Schwab

Workplace Politics

Politics in the workplace is not something I typically associated with or really knew a ton about. Specifically, within higher education, I did not know how politics worked or really understood what was going on. After being in the field a few years I have begun to have some understanding but try to keep myself on the outside and not get involved.


As a graduate student and among the younger generation in student affairs I feel as though I take a step back around institutional politics because I am still so new that I may not have the knowledge that others have. I also feel that since I am becoming a new professional within student affairs that others may think of me differently for getting involved in the politics or by not getting involved. I do think there are benefits to work politics, such as those sticking up for something that would help the students and making sure all students needs are met regardless of the process of getting there.


During the panel discussion we had in our Supervised Practice II course one of the panelist stated that “politics are how you manage your resources and your relationships and how you can leverage that to make positive changes on campus or pushing their agenda.” This statement really resonated with me in that throughout my career so far I try to do whatever I can to make positive change on campus. I have utilized the resources I can to make sure all the students needs are met, no matter the difficulty we face in trying to make sure the proper change is happening. Although I may not be able to make a change for all students, beginning to make small changes for some is a step in the right direction.


I believe as I continue in this field that I will get more involved in work politics and be able to make more positive changes. Although I am sure it all won’t be easy, and some aspects might be difficult, I am eager to continue and become a professional that stays true to my beliefs and does everything I can to make sure that students needs are met.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page